“Being rural in Andong” and “Good-bye Korea”

We finally went to Andong! Not that it’s a very interesting place though; Andong is famous for its houses built during the 16th century or somewhen around that time – and the fact that people still live in those houses! It’s also famous for several dishes such as the Andong Jjimdack (chicken stew) and a local variety of mixed rice-and-vegetables dish bibimbap but served with soy sauce instead of the usual red pepper paste.  But it’s like visiting the moon – or North Korea. Just to be able to say “I have been to Andong”.

The people in Andong also built a museum to commemorate a visit of Queen Elizabeth of England – the old lady said stuff like “Andong has a bright future”. Funny thing is, I didn’t see a single person under 45 yrs of age. And the people still living there support themselves by letting tourists stay in their homes, or do farming. Bright future indeed.

DSC08014
DSC07981My third oldest sister was wearing jeans and a fully buttoned-up shirt when the heat was like... too hot! Our oldest sister commented it was an abnormal behaviour for a Korean… 

DSC07990Rice paddies.

DSC07991

DSC07995New meets old. Traditional house + modern car = awesomeness.

DSC07996The sign says “Minbak” which means “Home-stay”. Those signs were everywhere in the village, which was very quiet.

DSC07998

DSC07999
DSC08008This little guy picked up one of the stones behind him and threw it against the wall, like 4 seconds later. I bet that when he grows up, he’ll substitute the stone for a molotov and throw it towards Korean riot policemen instead.

DSC08017I was hungry so I just snapped the pic before eating. This is Andong Jjimdack, their “chicken stew” – not as spicy as the usual one.

DSC08021I suppose you noticed the change of clothes for my nephew? “Normal” (Swedish) kids wear clothes they can play around in – my sister keeps changing my nephew’s clothes when he gets too dirty (like drooling too much). That bag contains a change of clothes for her and the kid, a bottle of water, diapers (whatever) an endless amount of perfumed tissues (“mull” tissue = water tissue). I used my own Swedish “sull” tissues instead – drenched in alcohol – so guess what “sull” is?

DSC08022Korean-western food can be ordered in “set”s or meals (Happy meal, anyone?) which include pizza, pasta and a cola. The pizza has corn in it. And the round things are sweet-potato filled pizza-bread.

DSC08024Found some more Swedish signs. I’m starting to think that Sweden is actually popular in Korea. Or maybe it’s just exotic enough, since Koreans equals no sense of “copyright”.

DSC08026

This is the last pic. “Good-bye Korea”.
I always forget something in that country – last time it was a necklace I got from my boyfriend and this time someone lost my camera case with a memory card in it. I bet any Korean who finds it is in for a big surprise…

3 thoughts on ““Being rural in Andong” and “Good-bye Korea”

  1. Susanne says:

    Typiskt koreanskt foto med låtsasdjur! Jag såg i Tikal i Guatemala koreaner som fotade sig med sin mjukisdjur (vuxna)

Leave a Reply

